There are several reasons you might want to Reset All Settings on your iPhone.
Perhaps your iPhone 15 or iPhone 14 is slow which is winding you up. Perhaps it’s just behaving badly and you fancy Resetting All Settings to see if it helps.
We’re here to assist you reset your iPhone without losing anything and to cover what happens if you reset all settings on iPhone.
When you reset all settings on iPhone, all settings including: network settings, the keyboard dictionary, location settings, privacy settings, and Apple Pay cards—are removed or reset to their defaults. No data or media are deleted.
Here’s how to reset all settings on your iPhone without losing anything:
- Launch the Settings app from your Home screen.
- Tap General.
- Tap Transfer or Reset iPhone. It’s at the bottom.
- Tap Reset
- Tap Reset All Settings. You may have to enter your passcode to do so.
What does Reset All Settings Do?
When you reset all settings of your iPhone or iPad, all settings including the following will be deleted or reset to their defaults:
- Network settings, including:
- Previously saved Wi-Fi networks and passwords will be deleted. For example, your iPhone will no longer connect to your Wi-Fi network automatically.
- Stored Hotspot connections will be deleted.
- Stored Bluetooth connections will be deleted.
- The words you’ve added to your iPhone or iPad dictionary will be erased.
- Your Apple Pay cards will be removed.
- Resets all of your device’s settings like Wallpaper, Sounds, Display & Brightness, Background App Refresh, Date & Time, and more.
- Resets Wi-Fi credentials in all iCloud Keychain devices that use the Apple ID if iCloud Keychain is turned on.
- Deregisters your device from iMessage and FaceTime.
- Removes your Touch ID & Passcode.
- If Restrictions are turned on, it resets all of your restrictions.
- Removes Face ID.
- Resets accessibility settings to default.
- It removes your encrypted backup password.
All your customized settings will be returned to the defaults, such as:
- Airplane Mode: Off
- Wi-Fi: On
- Bluetooth: On
- Data roaming: Off
- Personal Hotspot: Off
- VPN: off
- Background App Refresh: On
- Location Services for Apps: Off (Apps will stop using your location until you give them permission).
- Ask to Join Network: On
What Reset All Settings doesn’t do
- It doesn’t remove content stored on your device like apps, music, photos, or videos.
- It doesn’t remove content from your iCloud.
- Your settings from built-in apps, like Safari and Mail, will be the same.
- The settings of any third-party apps that you’re using won’t be changed.
- Your iCloud settings will be the same. For example, Find My will not be removed. Activation Lock will not be removed.
- It won’t reset the list of trusted computers. You will not see "Trust This Computer" alerts after the reset unless it is a new computer.
- It doesn’t reset your iTunes & App Store settings. You will not lose your purchases.
- Your social media settings will remain the same. Your social accounts on your device will stay.
- Your Privacy settings won’t be changed.
- It doesn’t reorganize your apps or folders. If you created app folders, they will not be deleted. The built-in apps will not be moved to their original layout on the Home Screen.
- You will not be signed out of iCloud and the App Store.
Will I Lose Anything if I Reset All Settings?
It’s important to emphasize Reset All settings is not the same thing as Erase All Content & Settings.
Resetting all settings deletes all settings and configurations you’ve made on your iPhone. A Erase All Content & Settings will delete pretty much everything on your iPhone, reverting it to the state it was in when you unboxed it.
Reset All Settings will not delete any files, folders, or other media stored on your iPhone. Nor will it delete any web browser data, such as your browsing history or saved bookmarks.